While driving on New Jersey’s roadways, you rely on other drivers to uphold the rules of the road to keep you and your passengers safe. However, after an accident, you may find that the other driver involved has failed to keep up one of the foundational requirements for driving a vehicle: they do not have a valid driver’s license.
What should you know if you are in a crash involving an unlicensed driver?
Accidents involving unlicensed drivers are more common than you may think.
New Jersey law imposes penalties to drivers who get behind the wheel without a license because of the danger that unlicensed drivers can pose to others on the roadway. They could be fined up to $500 and spend up to 60 days in jail.
It may seem that these penalties would prevent people from driving while unlicensed, but many still drive without a license or with a license that has been suspended or revoked. In fact, some studies indicate that one in five accidents involve a driver who does not have a valid license.
The other driver may not have insurance if they are unlicensed.
If another driver is at fault for an accident, their insurance company will usually pay for at least part of the harm caused by the other driver. However, many insurance companies refuse to cover drivers whose licenses are suspended or revoked. This means that even if the other driver has paid their insurance premiums, their unlicensed status may leave them without insurance to cover the accident’s costs. In these cases, uninsured motorist coverage from your own policy may cover part or all of the damages.
After an accident with an unlicensed driver, it can be essential to work with an experienced attorney. Not only can they help negotiate with insurance companies, but they can also help you fight for the compensation you need to recover after the accident.