For many of us, we have already been in a car accident and have the scars to prove it. However, for some lucky few, they have yet to be in a car accident. And, for those uninitiated, this post will explain what happens after a car accident.
First, if you are in a car accident in the Garden State where anyone was injured, killed or resulted in any property damage over $500, it must be reported. This can be done by simply calling the local police department or 9-1-1. If not, you will need to report the accident to the New Jersey Motor Vehicle Commission Agency. This must be done within 10 days of the car accident, and you must include the details of the motor vehicle accident.
What to include in the MVCA report
If police appeared on the scene, they will take all of the information that is needed. If not though, when you send in the written accident report to the MVCA, specific information is needed.
First, the report must include the cause of the car accident, or at least what you believe caused the accident. Then, describe the scene of the accident, including all of the vehicles and people involved. Include everyone’s insurance information as well.
Immediately after an auto accident
After making sure everyone is okay, call 9-1-1. Do not downplay or make the auto accident sound less serious than it is because the goal is to at least get a police officer dispatched.
However, everyone should be looked at by a medical professional as well. If that is an EMT, fine, but if not, they should see a doctor as soon as possible after the car accident. Get photos of the vehicle, the motor vehicle accident scene, the people involved in the accident, the surroundings, etc. Take photos of everything because it is hard to know what will be important now. Then, get insurance information and Trenton, New Jersey, witness information.